Skip to Main Content

Faculty

 

 

 

The Political Science faculty is committed to both research and teaching. In terms of research, faculty members give papers at scholarly conferences all over the world and write books and publish articles in the best journals in the profession. At the same time, faculty members are dedicated teachers. Along with carefully selected adjunct professors, the full time faculty teach all the courses offered in the department.

 

 

Carolyn Forestiere, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor and Chair                      
Office: PUP 311     Phone: 410-455-8160     Email: forestie@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

Ian Anson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office:PUP 305     Phone: 410-455-2142     Email: iganson@umbc.edu
Personal website: Ian Anson

b

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

William Blake, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: PUP 312     Phone: 410-455-8132     Email: wblake@umbc.edu
Personal website: William Blake

Blake.William2015 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunil Dasgupta, Ph.D.
Program Director at Shady Grove 
Email: sunildasgupta@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jeffrey Davis, J.D., Ph.D.f_davis
Professor
Office: PUP 316     Phone: 410-455-2181     Email: davisj@umbc.edu
Personal website: Jeffrey Davis

 

 

 

 

 

Felipe Filomeno, Ph.D.filomeno
Associate Professor    
Office: PUP 320     Phone: 410-455-8475     Email: filomeno@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Brian Grodsky, Ph.D.f_grodsky
Professor and Associate Chair
Office: PUP 308     Phone: 410-455-8047     Email: bgrodsky@umbc.edu
Personal website: Brian Grodsky

 

 

 

 

 

 

Devin T. Hagerty, Ph.D. f_hagerty
Professor 
Office: PUP 317     Phone: 410-455-2185     Email: dhagerty@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

Cynthia Hody, Ph.D
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director
f_hodyOffice: PUP 313     Phone:  410-455-2193     Email: hody@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Laura Hussey, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director of Sondheim Public Affairs, Scholars Program 
Office: PUP 319Phone: 410-455-6560     Email: lhussey@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tyson King-Meadows, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: Fine Arts 442    Phone: 410-455-2194    Email: tkingmea@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Roy Meyers, Ph.D. f_meyers
Professor
Office: PUP 318     Phone: 410-455-2196     Email: meyers@umbc.edu
Personal website: Roy Meyers

 

 

 

 

 

Thomas F. Schaller, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: PUP 314     Phone: 410-455-2845     Email: schaller@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Brigid Starkey, Ph.D.f_starkey
Senior Lecturer and Director, Global Studies
Office: Fine Arts Rm. 551     Phone: 410-455-2182     Email: bstarkey@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eric Stokan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Office: PUP 309   Phone: 410-455-1595    Email: estokan@umbc.edu
Additional website: Eric Stokan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lisa Vetter, Ph.D.f_vetter
Associate Professor
Office: PUP 307     Phone: 410-455-8477     Email: lvetter@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adjunct Faculty, Fall 2019

Ben Garmoe (also Head Coach, Mock Trial)    Office: PUP 358    Email: ben.garmoe@gmail.com
Martin Kobren    Office: PUP 358    Email: mkobren@umbc.edu
Laszlo Korossy   Office: PUP 358   Email: korossy1@umbc.edu
Elli Lierberman  Office: PUP 358   Email: elli1@umbc.edu
Kerwin Miller    Office: PUP 358    Email: kxmiller@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 


Emeritus Faculty
George R. LaNoue, Ph.D.f_lanoue
Professor Emeritus  
Office: PUP 413     Phone: 410-455-2180     Email: glanoue@umbc.edu

 

 

 

 

Cheryl M. Miller, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus
cmiller@umbc.edu

f_cmiller

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nicholas R. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Office: PUP 321     Phone: 410-455-2187    Email: nmiller@umbc.edu

f_nmiller

 Additional website: Nicholas R. Miller

 

 

 

 

 

Arthur T. Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor and UMBC Provost Emeritus
Office: PUP 311     Phone: 410-455-2195     Email: ajohnson@umbc.edu

f_johnson

 

 

 

 

 

 

Harold Levy, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Office: PUP 359     Phone: 410-455-2191     Email: hlevy@umbc.edu